The History Of The Department
Courtesy of Lakeside Ladies Auxiliary
Back in 1947, several friends who regularly
gathered at the lakeside inn known as Bezdeks (later known as
Mombasha Inn) became concerned with fire protection in this southern
tip of Monroe. In particular they noted the winding and unpaved
road, recognized the risks, and subsequently decided to form a
The original Fire Company was inaugurated
as Lake Mombasha Fire Company, but later, to avoid being confused
with existing Mombasha Fire
Company the name was changed to "The Lakeside Fire Company".
It was changed once more in June of 1991 to "Monroe Lakeside
Fire and Rescue Company" as a more accurate reflection of
the region it serves.
Because the region was not highly populated
in 1947, most of the early fires were barn and brush fires. The
newly formed fire company purchased its first fire truck from
the Mombasha Fire Company - a 1923 Mack truck that had no roof,
a hand cranked siren, and could be outrun on foot.
Al Berninger who was the fire chief
throughout the 50's kept the fire truck at his service station
garage (now known as 'Bentleys North') until the new firehouse
was built across the street in 1970. The First set of officers
for Lake Mombasha Fire Company included: Harry Bonser, Ken Lewis,
George Kup Jr., Bernard Judson, and Ernest Kloiber.
The original complement of volunteers
numbered 19, compared to today which numbers over 44; 11of whom
are certified EMT-D's.
From its modest origins, the Monroe
Lakeside Fire & Rescue Co. Inc. has grown alongside its community.
The volunteers pride themselves on their level of preparedness,
and all members are cross-trained in rescue and EMS procedures.
MLF&R run fire and rescue drills
every Monday evening. The range of drills run from Driver Training
(for safe, effective operations, and getting to and from scenes)
to Automobile Extrication (Cutting up cars) To live
burns at the Fire Training Center.